7th September 2017, 10:51 | yorkshire-mens-league

Local rivals all set for YML Division 3 Grand Final

Local rivals all set for YML Division 3 Grand Final

Cutsyke Raiders v Allerton Bywater takes place at Castleford Pathers on Saturday.

Allerton bywater and Cutsyke Raiders have announced their squads ahead of the Yorkshire Men's League Division 3 Grand Final this Saturday.

The local rivals sit just four miles apart and go head-to-head at Castleford Panthers ARLFC, 2.30pm kick off, with the winners crowned Division 3 champions.

Allerton Bywater enjoyed an outstanding 2017, finishing top of the table by four points, while scoring more points than any other team and boasting the best defensive record in the fourth tier of the Yorkshire Men's League.

They stormed into the final thanks to an impressive 56-4 semi-final win over Ossett Trinity Tigers.

Allerton's last of only three league defeats in 2017 came last month, at the hands of Saturday's opponents, Cutsyke, when the Raiders edged to a 23-18 win.

The Raiders will be in confident mood going into the weekend, after a late-season surge saw them recover from four defeats in their opening five games to finish second in the league.

Led by Head Coach and Castleford Tigers star Tom Holmes, Cutsyke have lost just once since early June and will be hopeful of another win on Saturday.

Head-to-head 2017

  • Saturday, June 3: Allerton Bywater 52-16 Cutsyke Raiders
  • Saturday, August 12: Cutsyke Raiders 23-18 Allerton Bywater

Yorkshire Men's League Division 3 Grand Final - squads:

Allerton Bywater

  1. Richard Fisher
  2. Keenan Connelly
  3. Jordan Rotherforth
  4. Russell Barton
  5. Jarrod Trout
  6. Nick Baldwin
  7. Richard Lazenby
  8. Chris Reynolds
  9. Steve Tinnion
  10. James Rawson
  11. Kean Hiscock
  12. Louis Silkstone
  13. Steve Ramsey
  14. Warren Leafe
  15. Nathan Waters
  16. Joe Topping
  17. James White
  18. Daniel Monaghan
  19. Richard Dobson
  20. Daniel Gill
  21. Matthew Lisle

Cutsyke Raiders

  1. Gavin lighthowler 
  2. Alex Johnson 
  3. James Allen 
  4. John Fenwick 
  5. Aaron Duncan 
  6. Andrew speak 
  7. Lee Cartwright (captain)
  8. Aaron phelps 
  9. Craig Roberts 
  10. Scott Wilson 
  11. Eddie Johnson 
  12. Sean Gee (vice captain) 
  13. Carl Etherington 
  14. Jake Dickinson 
  15. Carl Pye
  16. Simon Pye 
  17. Jack lee 
  18. Craig Wynn 
  19. Alex land
  20. Robert gibbins

Fixture info:

Allerton Bywater v Cutsyke Raiders

Date: Saturday, September 9
Kick off: 2.30pm
Venue: Castleford Panthers ARLFC,
Raglan Close, Castleford WF10 1PL